Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 May 2006, 13:26   #21
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
as some folks are always under the impression that landies are so wonderful

does anyone know how you change the rear three spark plugs on a freelander

answer

yes you have to remove the engine, superb i must say!
__________________

__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2006, 13:33   #22
Now back to being Mollers!
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Arundel
Boat name: Mike Bravo 1
Make: Scorp
Length: 9m +
Engine: Yanmar 300
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Jardon
as some folks are always under the impression that landies are so wonderful

does anyone know how you change the rear three spark plugs on a freelander

answer
Get a bunch of Welsh Ribnetters, One to hold the spanner and the rest to turn the Freelander? Perhaps
__________________

__________________
Alice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2006, 13:39   #23
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Jardon
as some folks are always under the impression that landies are so wonderful

does anyone know how you change the rear three spark plugs on a freelander

answer

yes you have to remove the engine, superb i must say!

Are you serious???

Even IF it were the case it isn't just the Freelander that is a bitch to work on - most new cars are going this way. Some cars now need the headlight to be removed just to change a bulb.

New Renaults need a laptop connected just to change the brake pads. The calipers retract automatically and you just slide the pads in - great until they seize!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2006, 14:04   #24
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn
Are you serious???

Even IF it were the case it isn't just the Freelander that is a bitch to work on - most new cars are going this way. Some cars now need the headlight to be removed just to change a bulb.

New Renaults need a laptop connected just to change the brake pads. The calipers retract automatically and you just slide the pads in - great until they seize!!!
try a bit of googling and you will see if it is true or not

anyway just off to south wales to visit an old friend and try out my ecu cleaning job
__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2006, 14:06   #25
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
only kidding cods before you start panicing and worrying about stalkers! and not being able to sleep at night and all that

just focus on the tides and the weather
__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2006, 06:25   #26
DGR
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Barmouth
Boat name: Blue Marlin
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yanmar 315/Bravo 2X
MMSI: 235020218
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn
....Even IF it were the case it isn't just the Freelander that is a bitch to work on - most new cars are going this way. Some cars now need the headlight to be removed just to change a bulb......
Hmm...like my Disco II, not only do you have to remove the whole headlight assembly, but also remove the front grill!! How rubbish is that?

I still love my Landie though!! It's not logical, or sensible, but hey...

D...

P.S. Anyone selling a Zapcat?
__________________
DGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2006, 09:30   #27
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
problem is back again, i have cleaned out the red connector plug to the ecu, i go for a short drive and then the problem is back again, when i check the plug there is a little oil on a couple of the connectors. but i fail to see that this would cause rough running as i would have thought 2 connectors would need to short to cause that. each time i clean it the probelm goes away but then after a little time it is back. wondering if there is another issue or problem.

only a british car could have oil traveling down the electric cables......i am speechless
__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2006, 13:13   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Jardon
problem is back again, i have cleaned out the red connector plug to the ecu, i go for a short drive and then the problem is back again, when i check the plug there is a little oil on a couple of the connectors. but i fail to see that this would cause rough running as i would have thought 2 connectors would need to short to cause that. each time i clean it the probelm goes away but then after a little time it is back. wondering if there is another issue or problem.

only a british car could have oil traveling down the electric cables......i am speechless
Not quite - happens on Mercs as well. Diesels just shouldn't have electronics!!!

Apparently the permanent cure is a new loom!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2006, 13:25   #29
DGR
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Barmouth
Boat name: Blue Marlin
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yanmar 315/Bravo 2X
MMSI: 235020218
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 827
Does the 'unused' problem wire actually go into the ECU? Can you not get it out of the loom further up and terminate it so that the oil goes somewhere else? Or does it come down the other wires as well?

Also, where is the oil coming from (not that that will help much on a landie...)

D...
__________________
DGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2006, 04:44   #30
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
i have noticed oil coming out of the loom connection to the airbox and oil in a couple of other unexpected areas so am going to take a look at the loom where it comes out of the head in the front lh corner of the rocker box area. i suspect the only real cure is a modified replacement engine loom.

going to see if lr will replace it for free! if you dont ask you dont get!
__________________

__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.