Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 March 2014, 14:18   #11
RIBnet supporter
 
mick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x Honda 90Hp
MMSI: 235025718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,984
Pretty sure there is a lock there to use
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 14:46   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 362
Can't tell if you're being serious or not Mick
__________________

__________________
rigi36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 14:52   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
mick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x Honda 90Hp
MMSI: 235025718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigi36 View Post
Can't tell if you're being serious or not Mick
Well there is a lock but just looked its on the foot bridge so I got it wrong
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 15:26   #14
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Never driven anything on the scale of this boat but if he wanted to gauge height wouldn't he had been better to reverse in to the bridge using the currents, using the engines to line up by ferry gliding. He'd always have an escape route with plenty of forward thrust should he need it?
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2014, 04:47   #15
Member
 
kubcat's Avatar
 
Country: Australia
Town: Sydney
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribtec 890SX
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yamaha ME 421STI x 2
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Never driven anything on the scale of this boat but if he wanted to gauge height wouldn't he had been better to reverse in to the bridge using the currents, using the engines to line up by ferry gliding. He'd always have an escape route with plenty of forward thrust should he need it?
I agree about backwards, that's what I would have tried, although I probably wouldn't have tried.

I thought this would have a bow thruster, which once again would probably have been more useful heading into the current. Not vey helpful going sideways into such a strong current.
__________________
kubcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2014, 05:56   #16
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
That boat probably has ips pod drives. It wouldn't matter about tides or current. You could drive that boat sideways up or down current without even touching the helm. Definitely a that driver
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2014, 06:19   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Currents on a river, you're kidding???
Call it flow then, but when pinched between bridge uprights it can be hellish.

Just dopey helming. it wasn't gonna ever 'fit' and then they were clueless re. getting it out. If they'd held going astern initially, they may've been ok.
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2014, 06:19   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,157
Here's part 2, it has been suggested the Uncle Albert was at the helm which would explain it - Looks like it was a 67 not a 57

__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2014, 06:46   #19
Member
 
kubcat's Avatar
 
Country: Australia
Town: Sydney
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribtec 890SX
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yamaha ME 421STI x 2
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 470
Wow! It did fit, sort of.

I would have liked to have seen it from the other side.
__________________
kubcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2014, 12:43   #20
Member
 
Country: Other
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Well there is a lock but just looked its on the foot bridge so I got it wrong
Between Richmond and Teddington lock there is a partial tide flow due to a sill (just down river from this bridge). So there is a lock just below the bridge but it only operates after about half tide. This incident is probably near high tide - so he only would have to wait until the level dropped and then he would have got under easily. The other thing is when the tide drops and the sill kicks in there would be no current at all! There is only tide/current at this point when it has risen above the sill. I know all this as we owned a 50ft Trader which we lived on at Chelsea Harbour. Our air draft was about the same as this boat (approx14ft). There are certain points on the Thames where you have to be accurate in draft as well as bridge height. On a boat like this you can go all the way to Windsor Old Bridge - provided you know what you are doing!!
__________________

__________________
- "No matter how big the sea may be, sometimes two ships meet".
indaba1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.