Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 September 2005, 18:00   #1
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
omnibook 4150 bios password reset hack?

Ok you computer buffs

does anyone on here know how i can reset the password or hack past it on a HP omnibook 4150 laptop, i cleared the user password in the bios as was a pain it keep coming up when the pc was started and it seems to have fallen back on another password which is probably the supervisor password in the bios

seems the only answer is to call HP on monday morning

any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 September 2005, 18:14   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
They can be a bit of a bitch - stored in an eeprom - there ARE ways to do it but easier to wait until Monday - if you are still stuck let me know!!!
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 September 2005, 18:20   #3
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
i have checked a few of the techy sites for this issue and it seems the way is to call hp tech support and pay for thier time to go thru the password fix,

some eprom readers can do it etc but all seems a bit dicey and tricky, i guess it is a case of pays ya money and contact hp
__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 September 2005, 19:27   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Can you not just reflash the BIOS?
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 September 2005, 19:47   #5
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker
Can you not just reflash the BIOS?
i cant do anything with it, it just starts to boot then hits the password, i dont even seem to be able to get to the bios, floppy wont run so not sure how would do that?

as for clearing the bios that wont work either due to being on a eprom apparently

chris
__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 11:04   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
This might be a daft thought but . . .

. . . have you tried just hitting 'enter' when the password comes up?

Alternatively, is there a default password that you can recall from the very beginning?

Or just try the password that you removed?

Mike
__________________
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 13:20   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Often the passowrd could be something simple like 1234 or omni or poart of the serial etc.

If I HAD to get around it I would but far easier to wait until monday!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 15:16   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Farnborough
Boat name: Eleven
Make: Arrow
Length: 8m +
Engine: 557cu, 700hp
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,255
or, most obviously, "password".
__________________
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 15:29   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newquay, Cornwall.
Boat name: None :(
Make: None :(
Length: 5m +
Engine: None :(
MMSI: None :(
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,280
most laptops allow you to password protect the hard drive as well as the bios - if you were only seing one password screen before this is usually because the bios password and hard drive password were the same - but i will assume you have tried the old password on this new screen.

To confirm this you could try removing the hard drive then booting from a cd or a floppy - if it is the hard drive that is passworded and you cant remember it - you could always get a new hard drive...
roycruse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 18:35   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by roycruse
most laptops allow you to password protect the hard drive as well as the bios - if you were only seing one password screen before this is usually because the bios password and hard drive password were the same - but i will assume you have tried the old password on this new screen.

To confirm this you could try removing the hard drive then booting from a cd or a floppy - if it is the hard drive that is passworded and you cant remember it - you could always get a new hard drive...


http://www.pwcrack.com/bios.shtml

Some good info here.....
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.