Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Other stuff

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 February 2011, 23:29   #1
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: Northern Exposure 5
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 90hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,562
MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt

Is anybody else getting this??

I have two email accounts set up in my Outlook as I'm involved with two charities. I do this because it makes my life easier by keeping the two charities separate rather than sharing an email address which does not look very professional.

Just recently people who I have sent messages to have been replying to me and I've noticed this message buried in my initial email:

MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "www.charity1.org.uk" claiming to be www.charity2.org.uk

Now charity 1 was the first account I set up in my outlook and I added charity 2 at a later date.

Does anybody know how can I stop this happening again?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Chris
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2011, 23:41   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swindon
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 239050687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,881
Silly question, but when you send email I assume you're switching to the correct username and account so the sender and account match?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?
Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2011, 23:44   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Polwart's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Linlithgow
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,855
CJL,

I've no experience with MailScanner - but the most common cause for the type of phishing scam warning you are getting is if you have a link which displays: www.charity2.org.uk but actually points to www.charity1.org.uk

Like this link for "the best boat website in the UK: www.rib.net " which actually goes to a much worse place!
Polwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2011, 23:53   #4
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: Northern Exposure 5
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 90hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Silly question, but when you send email I assume you're switching to the correct username and account so the sender and account match?
Yes!

When I send an email I select which account I send it from and Outlook says at the top of the email....This message will be sent via vice.chairman@charity2.org.uk.

When I send an email from the original (default) account it doesn't say anything cause I presume it's running the original account.

In fact I've just checked and the problem is only occurring when the secondary account is used. Its fine using the default/primary account.

Chris
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2011, 23:54   #5
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: Northern Exposure 5
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 90hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
CJL,

I've no experience with MailScanner - but the most common cause for the type of phishing scam warning you are getting is if you have a link which displays: www.charity2.org.uk but actually points to www.charity1.org.uk

Like this link for "the best boat website in the UK: www.rib.net " which actually goes to a much worse place!
Hi Polwart,

No problems on that front as when I switch, the identity switches.

Chris
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2011, 00:17   #6
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: Northern Exposure 5
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 90hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,562
TYPICAL I spend days trying to sort this and the footer which is added after I click send, had some terms and conditions which link across to the other charity.

So all sorted now - thanks for the various offers of help!

Chris
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:31.


RIB News Delivered to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with RIB news in your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]