Originally Posted by Rogue Wave
Excellent result good game wonderful refereeing
OK, Stuart, you got me, I will rise to this.
At the time, I thought that Mark Cueto's foot might have been on the line but on further review, I have to say that I thought video referee got this wrong.
The only camera angle that is conclusive is the one from behind looking directly along the touchline. The french touchjudge does not raise his flag and is standing on the tryline (!!!!) and Alain Bolland asks the correct question " Is there any reason why I CANNOT award the try?"
Cueto's foot did not clearly break the line
and if his foot is in the air, he is deemed to be still in play. The answer therefore should be "No"
As in cricket, when the benefit of the doubt goes to the batsman, so in rugby the team crossing the line should be deemed to have scored unless there is sufficient evidence to suggest otherwise. On this occasion, that evidence was lacking in my opinion (as an expom who for some strange reason still wants to support England!)