Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 November 2012, 12:56   #21
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Well the cheapest option for me is to just buy an AV tuner/amp to plug everything in to. Yamaha1 or Yamaha2 is probably the best option for about 200 new or something second hand, just not too old as I want HDMI connectivity.
I have found this to be the most flexible solution, even though it means an extra remote I use two Yamaha RX-V750's 7.1 units with HDMI and cant fault them although they are 4 years old now IIRC those units youve chosen look pretty good what with optical, composite,HDMI etc .. should be able to handle pretty much any application .. I think my amps were 4 times that on the day
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 12:05   #22
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I've got the Samsung 6710 and 3D Blu-Ray

...Now what?

I've had my new TV for a couple of weeks and although disappointed initially with the picture I've had a fiddle around with the settings and all I can say is WOW!

Smart features work like a dream and I can control and steam stuff from my S3 phone too. I can share all my pictures and video from the computer though All Share which is brilliant in showing my 85 year old Dad what's been going in the lives of many family members from around the country.

DVD works brilliantly too and although the 3D glasses look naff they do a great job of converting films in to realistic 3D .

The only thing that lets the whole system down is the sound.

I've found a very keenly priced AV receiver but the only thing putting me off at the moment is the fact I might need to buy a wireless dongle and an optional Blue Tooth transceiver to gain full use of the unit. This is going to cost me an additional 100. I could hard wire the unit to the home network but haven't the ports on the wireless modem as both are taken up with the home PC's.

Can I just buy another wireless modem with additional ports in the back or can I buy some sort of splitter that I can plug in to the existing modem that will expand the number of ports from 2 to 4?
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 13:02   #23
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Just get another 4 port hub (or so) .. connect one port to your existing gear/router and gives you another 2 free RJ45 connections for your network
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 14:25   #24
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: ShaarkBait
Make: Zodiac 3.6 FR
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 9.9 4-stroke
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 364
Switch not hub. They are completely different things but achieve the same thing hence are confused. Switch good, hub mostly bad for the same reason wifi and power line networks are bad - they flood network with all traffic where as switch is device to device isolating rest of network from unnecessary traffic.
__________________
IanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 17:30   #25
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanH View Post
Switch not hub.
Fair comment
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 17:41   #26
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanH View Post
Switch not hub. They are completely different things but achieve the same thing hence are confused. Switch good, hub mostly bad for the same reason wifi and power line networks are bad - they flood network with all traffic where as switch is device to device isolating rest of network from unnecessary traffic.
Switch...Hub...? I'm confused (which is easy around computers).

Can't I just purchase another wireless router but with 4 ports for Ethernet cables to plug in?

Like this?

http://m.novatech.co.uk/products/net...nov-nadsl.html
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 18:19   #27
SPR
Trade member
 
SPR's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,066
switch would be cheaper!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B000N99BBC
__________________
SPRmarine / SPRtraining
RYA Training Courses & Safety Equipment Sales
SPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 21:45   #28
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR View Post
I assume that one patches one of the sockets to the wireless router and the computers/Av Receiver/TV to the other ones?

Is it easy to set-up?
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 December 2012, 02:40   #29
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: ShaarkBait
Make: Zodiac 3.6 FR
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 9.9 4-stroke
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Can't I just purchase another wireless router but with 4 ports for Ethernet cables to plug in?
A router is a device for routing network data from one network to a different network, ie your home network to Internet not home network to home network as you want to do. What most people call a router, is really much more than a router, it includes other bits such as a wireless access point and a small switch - the ports on the back. You don't need any of the other bits other than the switch so might as well buy just that and not all the other bits. As well as cost, if you don't know what you are doing and don't disable some of the bits of the router, you will end up causing all sorts of issues which will probably cause major confusion and frustration when some computers or smart devices start working intermittently.

On cost and most importantly sanity grounds, the switch is the way to go.

If you need more advice such a recommendation, pm me. I write and test networking software for home media devices ( incl. iPhone/iPad and Mac) and use to develop computer systems used for global networking by most of the worlds financial and news media institutions.
__________________
IanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 December 2012, 02:52   #30
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
I have a router for internet access .. which also has four RJ45 connectors on it, but they arent enough, because I have various devices around the house which need connections to the network in order to gain access to the internet, or other devices, and if I dont have enough sockets I will buy another of these

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-GS10...5730240&sr=8-1

As Ian mentioned some routers have wireless built in, but if you just need to add extra sockets to your network (you already have a wireless access point), the above solution is simplest .. you can chain several of these units together easily .. which will still allow any device on the network access out to the internet via your router as long as the whole network is plugged into your router ... does that help ?
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.