Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 November 2004, 11:34   #21
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
No, not logged in......

.........anywhere else. Good thinking batman.
__________________

__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 11:35   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes
Boat name: Tabby Cat
Make: Halmatic
Length: 7m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha 115
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 388
It sounds to me as though you have a security problem within your system. Have yo checked the security settings from within explorer.
__________________

__________________
Simon Hawkins
http://www.rnli.org.uk/cowes
Simon Hawkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 11:36   #23
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
Its definitely a secure site problem (SSL over port 443).

Not really sure what to suggest. You sys admin is sure that your laptop can route traffic out on port 443?

Have you installed any software recently? Around the time it stopped working


Clutching at straws but: Checked for viruses/spyware?.. http://www.lavasoft.de/
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 11:39   #24
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Yea, hate to say.....

.....I downloaded a programme the other day. I followed all the checks etc and as it was something to do with not a lot (a flooring design programme) I figured it would be ok. Having used it once or twice and realised it was c**p I removed it using the usual programme.

I've seen something somewhere about SSL443 but can't recall where.

What next chaps ?
__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 11:43   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
In internet options........

......advanced there's a box to tick for ssl2.0 and ssl 3.0 and also TLS or TTS 1.0 but nothing for SSL 443 ? Does this help ?
__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 11:48   #26
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
SSL2.0 and SSL3.0 should both be ticked. two and three are just different versions of SSL. 443 is the port through which SSL traffic travels.

TLS doens't need to be ticked.
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 11:52   #27
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Well that all appears.......

......in order. Ticks where they're meant to be etc. Well, I'm feeling somewhat dispondent, what a nightmare ! Let's see if Microsoft reply tomorrow, if not, she's off to the scrappers.
__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 12:07   #28
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
I can't imagine that floor design program would have any effect.


You could try the following, its fairly drastic though. It will clear out all the settings for you network connection. If all you network setting are provided by a DHCP server then you will be ok, but they might be manually entered in which case you need to make sure you have a record of them or there is someone there who does.

Goto Start | Run. Type netsh and click ok
then type 'Interface ip'
then type 'show config'

This will show current configuration information. Check to see if DHCP is enabled (If DHCP is not enabled only continue if you know how to put all the required details back in - IP address/mask/gateway address etc).

then type 'reset c:\log.txt'
then type bye
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 12:13   #29
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
also,

Start | Run
type 'cmd'
in the dos window type 'netstat -n'

is port 443 listed at all in the foreign address column? Try visiting https://mail.loughlin.tv and see if 443 appears in the list then.
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 November 2004, 12:14   #30
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Whoooooh, that sounds......

......a little drastic DJL. I may just go down that route, however and in the meantime I'm receiving a little help on the side which, may just solve the problem Thanks anyway, I'll keep yoou informed. Fingers crossed !
__________________

__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.