Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 21 October 2010, 12:54   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Help with home PC

Last night I discovered that my home PC had switched itself off when I left it on and it had not gone into sleep mode. I managed to restart using control/alt/delete it but today nothing

I switch the main power on and it appears to be firing up and the screen is switched on at the same time comes up with a blue light but then the screen does not start and shows "no signal" in words before switching down into the sleep mode and then nothing happens.(all happens very quickly) The main computer remains on and the keyboard appears also not to generate any response. The only way to switch of then is pullng the mains plug out

Ideas and suggestions please, I have rebooted it several times but the same as above always happens.
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2010, 13:26   #2
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Best to start with the basics.

I would start by checking all the connections both at the rear of the computer and the graphics card etc on the motherboard. There might well be a dodgy connection where your pc thinks you've switched off the screen and goes into sleep mode.

Have you a second monitor you can try?
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2010, 13:28   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Connections on the unit have been checked, I will have to ask someone in to do graphics card etc as I dont trust myself not to break it even more, I have a local person who I have e mailed but just seeing what ideas everyone has to try before I spend cash

No second monitor butmight be able to borrow one for test purpose
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2010, 13:43   #4
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I guess you could start it in safe mode and see what happens, as the computer boots up you'll have to hit one key to take you in to an options page. Usually delete, esc or F1 key should do it. At least you'll be able to see if the screen remains on for a period of time. I'm sure someone more experience with such things will come along later and help you.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2010, 06:00   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
I guess you could start it in safe mode and see what happens, as the computer boots up you'll have to hit one key to take you in to an options page. Usually delete, esc or F1 key should do it. At least you'll be able to see if the screen remains on for a period of time. I'm sure someone more experience with such things will come along later and help you.
If I understood then he's not getting any display on the monitor so booting in safe mode will not help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by C2ribs
I switch the main power on and it appears to be firing up and the screen is switched on at the same time comes up with a blue light but then the screen does not start and shows "no signal" in words before switching down into the sleep mode and then nothing happens.(all happens very quickly) The main computer remains on and the keyboard appears also not to generate any response. The only way to switch of then is pullng the mains plug out
If I have understood you right then you are seeing the same as the monitor would display if you turned it on with no PC connected? And you never see the "Power On Self Test" Screen - which is the black screen usually with a logo in the top right and then various bits of "technobabble" in white text. At that point you can normally press F2 or DEL or some other key to go into the Bios settings...

If you are not getting this far then there are a few possibilities:

(1) The PC is not putting out any data on the graphics adapter
(2) The data is not getting to the monitor
(3) The monitor is not working correctly.

I'd rule out 2 and 3 either by trying that cable and monitor on a different PC (e.g. laptop?) or swapping with a spare monitor and cable if you have them (e.g. from the office or many modern TV's have a VGA-in option).

Assuming they are working fine, then it looks like option 1. If it is a relatively ordinary computer (not a specialist games or video editing machine) that is reasonably modern then it probably has the video output integrated onto the motherboard. The fault could be the power supply, the motherboard itself or the processor (and possibly even faulty or loose memory) - any of which could produce the symptoms you describe. Other than checking that nothing has come loose inside or obviously burnt out there is not a lot you can do without knowing what you are doing or swapping parts around. Its worth doing a quick google on the fault and make / model of your PC - a few years ago half our office PC's starting developing a very similar problem and it was a known fault on the Dell Motherboard which dell were swapping, on site, free of charge despite being out of warranty.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2010, 06:49   #6
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Tobermory, Canada eh
Boat name: Verius
Make: Zodiac Hurricane 590
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,345
Send a message via MSN to Stoo
Professional diagnosis...

Your monitor is b*ggered...

You can probably buy a shiny new flat screen for next to nothing...
__________________
Pump it up and RIDE!

www.wetspotimages.com
Stoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2010, 13:33   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Cheers for help. We checked the graphics monitor/card and no problems then they found the mother board has failed so new on on order, fingers crossed. Lap top now working overtime
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2010, 16:33   #8
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Most commonly its the PSU .. when under load they drop all votage lines quickly when they go duff and wont let your machine get past the post stage ... 'power on self test'

Find another machine .. rob its power supply and connect .. and try it .. mobos rarely go down .. psu is a much more common cause I'm afraid
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2010, 16:57   #9
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
Possible Solution

Best solution- throw everything you have that is to with PCs in the bin and but a MAC- you will never look back

Alternative solution- Borrow one of my old PC flat screen monitors and see if it works. If it does you can buy it from us, if it does not then you will know its not your monitor thats bug****d.
__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2010, 17:27   #10
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Stormforce View Post
Best solution- throw everything you have that is to with PCs in the bin and but a MAC
Cmmon doug they guy needs help .. not a new mortgage
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.