Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 December 2006, 18:07   #11
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway
Boat name: rockhopper
Make: ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: petrol
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 525
Anti virus software

Quote:
Originally Posted by widey View Post
Wots a virus?..........bin it and get a Mac


or ditch Explorer and use firefox.

1st is better
I believe Firefox is great.
However I find the free software from grisoft.com called AVG is great and use in conjunction with free STINGER from Mac afee which surgically removes viruses that are residing on Hard drive.

Use both from free,
Meanwhile down load and use STinger.
Aidan
__________________

__________________
Aidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2006, 23:11   #12
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Site redirection is usually done by a browser helper object.

Use Hijack This, look at anything with (BHO) in the line, and delete any of them that you don't *know* is good software (Do not do this if you have appliocations that may have modified your browser; can't think of any offhand, except for file downloaders, but they do exist.)

You can also web search for filenames; often, it will ID exactly what A-hole advertiser has gotten you.

For genereal stuff, I've had good luck with Spybot and Ad-Aware, as well as Microsoft Defender.

Luck;

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 06:55   #13
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Well what ever it is, I can't get rid of it. I've tried all free anti-spyware software I can find, to no avail. I've reloaded my windows operating system and still have a problem (must in the boot part of the drive), I can't format my main drive as my windows disc is a Novatech one and dosn't seem to have this option.

Sooo, Yes please Olly. I would like to try your F-secure, I'll PM you.

If this dosn't work I'll take out my Hard drive take it to work and get someone there to reformat it.

I'll let you guys now how I get on.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 08:54   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
I can't format my main drive as my windows disc is a Novatech one and dosn't seem to have this option.
Andy, you should be able to partition and format your HD from DOS. You'll need a DOS start-up disc to get your machine up and running. That way Windows doesn't come into it so it's very unlikely any dodgy software will know what's going on.

I'd be a little reluctand to connect a HD with unknown software to a good working system since you don't know how clever the offending software is. For instance, it could see a new boot sector and off it could go.

Save just your files you need to keep to CD (and hope there's nothing unwanted saved with them). Format both your HDs under DOS and re-install Windows. Get your protection software up and running before you first connect to the internet and then install your drivers and programs. Back up the whole lot to your second drive at this point so you've got a restore point for the future. Disconnect your second drive and only then copy your files across from the CD and hope all is well. Should it go pear-shaped, you'll only have to reformat, install Windows, connect your second drive and copy all the backup files across to get your drivers and programs up and running.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 09:20   #15
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I've did a major back-up a couple of months ago (when I had a major cleanup and hardware update) so I'll have most of my personal settings and files from that. All of my mails I wanted to keep between the refit and now I forwarded to my own e-mail address, ready for downloading when I get everything sorted.

Can't I just type Fdisc or something into the run command thingy?
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 09:26   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Can't I just type Fdisc or something into the run command thingy?
Yeh you can but I think you might still be under Windows control although you are using a DOS editor. I'm not sure how that part of Windows works so can't be much help there.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 09:37   #17
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
So where can I get a DOS startup disc from John?
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 09:53   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
You don't need a DOS startup disk. Assuming you are running XP just boot off the CD - it will ask you about the file system or partition - say you wish to delete it and create a new one. This will wipe the disk and then create a new partition - chose NTFS. Remember you will lose everything!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 12:24   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Another one to try before the radical route is Sophos Anti Virus - you used to be able to download a 30-day copy from www.sophos.com - useful in emergencies!
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 December 2006, 12:34   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
So where can I get a DOS startup disc from John?
Andy, go to: Start->Help->(type in) Boot disc -> (select) Creating. You will note that is tells you that you can make boot discs from any version of windows so, if your own drive should fail, you can still get up and running by making discs on another PC.

Just a thought. If you have a PC where your Windows installation files and your programs are stored in a hidded partition which allows you to reinstall everything back to the way it was when you bought the PC, you will, of course, loose everything if you reformat.....but you know that.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.