Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 November 2006, 18:58   #1
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
From Search to Search

As some of you might know I'm fairly useless when it comes to Computers. The other day I downloaded IE version 7 which I seem to be getting to grips with.

However since then, when I search Google and make my choice, I open a selected link in a new window for my chosen website and get another search engine. It's really annoying! If I klick repeatably on the same link, after anything from 3 to 7 attempts I get though.

What's going on? How do I cure it, it's driving the wife up the wall.

I've searched with anti-spyware and done an anti-virus search but nothing shows.
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2006, 20:00   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Andy, next to the Live Search box, top right. Click on the wee down arrow and select 'Change search defaults'. You should be able to set the default search to Google.

However, after telling you this, I'll admit to not getting the search box to work. In fact if I right click on the magnifier icon I get the close window/restore options which doesn't seem correct to me.

Just make google a new tab and search from there.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2006, 22:12   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Set google as you home page.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2006, 22:12   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Better still install Firefox!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 November 2006, 06:02   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
Set google as you home page.
Then every time you log on you'll end up at Google....Oh, sorry, silly me, this is Codders I'm speaking to.

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 November 2006, 06:15   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Over here
Boat name: S.S. Nobstick
Make: Three Wise Monkeys
Length: 3m +
Engine: 44lbs of thrust....
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Andy, next to the Live Search box, top right. Click on the wee down arrow and select 'Change search defaults'. You should be able to set the default search to Google.

However, after telling you this, I'll admit to not getting the search box to work. In fact if I right click on the magnifier icon I get the close window/restore options which doesn't seem correct to me.

Just make google a new tab and search from there.

Worked for me.. After clicking on the "wee down arrow" click on "find more providers".. select Google from list.. check box for set as default.. and away you go... Then just type search key words into box and left click on the magnifier (search) icon..
__________________
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 November 2006, 06:58   #7
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Sorry guys you've misunderstood my post.

I can find Google easy, but when I search for something ie: "Mercury homepage" I get a list of possible links as usual but when I click on what is obviously the homepage I get another search engines results

It's all very confusing!

PS: Codprawn how dare you even mentioning changing my Homepage from RIBnet
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 November 2006, 09:20   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Then every time you log on you'll end up at Google....Oh, sorry, silly me, this is Codders I'm speaking to.

I find it much easier to use Google rather than trawling through all my favourites - I prob have about 1,000 of them so I just type "ribnet" or whatever into Google - much easier!!!
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.