Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 August 2010, 08:06   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Angel-B
Make: Ex Y boat
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki 9.9HP
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Thanks for all your help. I've specced this little baby from searches over the last couple of days.

What do you guys think?

Looks pretty good. I would suggest a few things:

1. I tend to favour Nvidia graphic cards over ATI, mostly due to personal preference but also due to some reported issues (probably now resolved) with video codec incompatibilities with ATI drivers and due to one application I had that was specifically optimised for Nvidia cards. However, whether ATI or Nvidia I would go for a 'name brand' rather than an 'own brand' graphics card. For example for Nvidia, BFG, EVGA and XFX are generally considered the 'best' card manufacturers, there are no doubt similarly 'preferred' manufacturers for ATI cards.

2. Your PSU looks somewhat undersized at 400 watt - most processors and graphics cards specify a minimum size PSU, and for the components you have specced I would expect it to be at least 500W - the AMD website lists the Corsair 520W as the smallest 'approved' Corsair PSU for the 5750 GFX card:

http://support.amd.com/us/certified/...aspx?p=Corsair

Cheers

Chris
__________________

__________________
chris123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2010, 08:06   #12
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Well, I've just won this on flee boy http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/p...BB-9654G2.html

So I guess I'll using this as my platform. I'm quite pleased really, as it uses a faster processor than I was considering, not sure about the power supply, but it's all been put together by Novatech so can't be too bad.
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2010, 08:11   #13
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris123 View Post
Looks pretty good. I would suggest a few things:

1. I tend to favour Nvidia graphic cards over ATI, mostly due to personal preference but also due to some reported issues (probably now resolved) with video codec incompatibilities with ATI drivers and due to one application I had that was specifically optimised for Nvidia cards. However, whether ATI or Nvidia I would go for a 'name brand' rather than an 'own brand' graphics card. For example for Nvidia, BFG, EVGA and XFX are generally considered the 'best' card manufacturers, there are no doubt similarly 'preferred' manufacturers for ATI cards.

2. Your PSU looks somewhat undersized at 400 watt - most processors and graphics cards specify a minimum size PSU, and for the components you have specced I would expect it to be at least 500W - the AMD website lists the Corsair 520W as the smallest 'approved' Corsair PSU for the 5750 GFX card:

http://support.amd.com/us/certified/...aspx?p=Corsair

Cheers

Chris
Thanks for all your advice about graphics cards Chris. The PSU has been resolved in the short term as the purchase includes one already. Not sure on the quality of it though, but Novatech units are pretty sound IMHO.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2010, 09:22   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Angel-B
Make: Ex Y boat
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki 9.9HP
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
The PSU has been resolved in the short term as the purchase includes one already. Not sure on the quality of it though, but Novatech units are pretty sound IMHO.
You should be fine with the PSU. The main reason I tend to use Corsair PSUs is to keep the noise down as much as possible - at home because they are running in the living room (media centre PC), at work because they are running in training rooms. That said the first Corsair PSU I bought went pop a few months ago - the only good thing was it didn't take anything else with it.

Cheers

Chris
__________________
chris123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 August 2010, 17:55   #15
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Just thought I'd just update everyone that made suggestions and gave advice.

I've just finished building the Barebones computer into something that works. I'm please to say that all the hardware elements of the build went smoothly and so did the installation of Windows 7. I have had some compatability problems with Kaspersky security 2009 but managed to find a free upgrade on their site to the 2011 edition which runs fine.

I haven't added all the bills up but it all comes in at about 650 including a LED back lit 22" monitor

That's for a AMD quad 3.4 with 4 gig of ram, 1 gig graphics card, 500gigs of HHD. I'm quite happy I managed to meet my budget and get the best possible spec for my system using good quality components.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 August 2010, 08:23   #16
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Just thought I'd just update everyone that made suggestions and gave advice.

I've just finished building the Barebones computer into something that works. I'm please to say that all the hardware elements of the build went smoothly and so did the installation of Windows 7. I have had some compatability problems with Kaspersky security 2009 but managed to find a free upgrade on their site to the 2011 edition which runs fine.

I haven't added all the bills up but it all comes in at about 650 including a LED back lit 22" monitor

That's for a AMD quad 3.4 with 4 gig of ram, 1 gig graphics card, 500gigs of HHD. I'm quite happy I managed to meet my budget and get the best possible spec for my system using good quality components.
Probably too late now, but I use Overclockers for stuff like this - they seem to have good stock and are reasonable!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 August 2010, 08:42   #17
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
Probably too late now, but I use Overclockers for stuff like this - they seem to have good stock and are reasonable!
Thanks for your recommendation Cookee, I've seen the overclockers website, but Novatech are just down the road from me and have very good prices too.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 August 2010, 08:54   #18
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Anybody know where I can buy a cheap copy of windows works that'll work with windows 7? My other copy isn't compatible and doesn't work at all.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 August 2010, 14:40   #19
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Anybody know where I can buy a cheap copy of windows works that'll work with windows 7? My other copy isn't compatible and doesn't work at all.
Unless you really need Works (e.g. for compatibility with old files) then i'd switch to Open Office - its free.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 August 2010, 16:33   #20
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
Unless you really need Works (e.g. for compatibility with old files) then i'd switch to Open Office - its free.
Oh yes, what that man said. It's top stuff, makes Works look like a Duplicator

The latest Open Office seems to open pretty much everything...
__________________

__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.