Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 June 2010, 08:25   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
email gurus please - need help

Have got a strange little problem with our office emails. We have three pc's each with their own pop3 access to their email accounts. We can receive mail just fine but it won't send. Comes up with error message saying can't find server 08xccc0e or something similar. Done the usual search, followed a FAQ on the providers website and am still none the wiser. I've also tried sending from a home pc (using same email account) and that works fine. I'm therefore guessing it is the router blocking port 25 as that is the only common item. Each pc runs Norton IS, so I suppose there is a possibility an update has messed with the security settings, but that assumes each pc has received same update and reacted in the same way.

Any thoughts? Anything I could try/check before messing about any further? I can't find any settings on the router that are wrong/have changed,

keith
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 08:50   #2
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Every computer guy I have ever spoken to has told me to never install Norton!
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 10:17   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Do you send via your ISP (i.e. broadband providers) mail servers or a third party server (e.g. 1and1.co.uk).

Some ISPs block outgoing connections on port 25. Most genuine mail servers will accept connections on another port (IIRC 587 is common) to overcome this. (To "debug" the problem I'd try pinging and then telneting into the mail server on port 25. If you can ping it, but not telnet - then as you say something is blocking the path. You can probably use traceroute to find where the block is - but I'd need to look up the windows settings). EDIT :- It looks like TRACERT in windows won't allow you to specify TCP and Port25 so scrap that idea.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 12:23   #4
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
If you send via your broadband provider they may have turned on SMTP authentication, I would check with them unless as Polwart says you use a third party for outbound mail.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 12:54   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Thanks for your replies Polwart and Martin.

I know about the blocking of port 25 by some ISP's as that happened on my mobile when I was away, and I couldn't send. Fortunately it was documented on 1and1's FAQ page. Also, it's always required authentication, so it's not that either.

The email server is 1and1.co.uk, and the ISP is my local Telecom provider. My home setup uses the same companies and email is fine on that, so I somehow doubt it has anything to do with either ISP or 1and1.

I've tried 1and1's FAQ for the error message and they suggested telneting, but their example used port 110 for receiving, which ain't much help as that bit works fine. How would you check for port 25? Telnet is new to me.

I will phone the 1and1 helpline tomorrow, but it really seems like a hardware/software problem at my end, rather than theirs. Could the router be packing up and blocking port 25 comms somehow?
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 13:26   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
I've tried 1and1's FAQ for the error message and they suggested telneting, but their example used port 110 for receiving, which ain't much help as that bit works fine. How would you check for port 25? Telnet is new to me.
Erin, I don't use Windoze much these days but here goes:

1. Get a command prompt e.g. Click Start, find Run..., type cmd and press enter
2. Type
Code:
telnet smtp.1and1.com 25
3. If it says something like "trying 74.208.5.2" but never connects then something is preventing the connection on port 25. Try swapping 25 for 587.

If it does connect it will say something like:
Code:
[user@localhost ~]$ telnet smtp.1and1.com 587
Trying 74.208.5.2...
Connected to smtp.1and1.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 smtp.perfora.net (mrus2) Welcome to Nemesis ESMTP server
bearing in mind that the windows format and details may be slightly different.

If you get connected you probably don't need to go any further (the router / firewalls are behaving!) - the problem is not with the network.

If you don't get connected on port 25 try your isp's mail server on 25 - if that connects and 1and1 doesn't then the ISP is probably the problem.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 13:56   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Many thanks for your clear explanation/procedure. I will give it a go later.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 16:20   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Solved.

Messed around trying a spare router to no avail. Phoned the helpline, they suggested changing port to 587 (I know, I know you told me ) and all is now well. Why on earth our ISP should suddenly decide to block port 25 is beyond me. What's even stranger is that at home it still works on 25. Same ISP, same email server.

Thanks anyway
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 16:41   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2010, 17:49   #10
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
Thanks for your replies Polwart and Martin.
But Cookee gave you the good advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
Every computer guy I have ever spoken to has told me to never install Norton!
After many years experience I think you'll come to the same view ......... eventually

The stuff f**ks with your network, and slows your pc dont use it and get a decent simple router like a Draytek .........
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.