Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Did I get ripped off?

Hi all
For the first time in 40 years I decided to have one of my cars serviced by a garage.
Have a 2003 Isuzu Rodeo V6. with 78,000 miles. Work included: replace timing belt and water pump ( was told always replace w/pump) replace headlight bulb. They tacked on replacement of two radiator hoses as they said they were weeping. I was horrified at the cost of $687.00 US. To be fair that did include picking the car up from my wife's place of work, driving her home after work and coming to our house to collect her to pick it up. I am new to this "pay for repairs stuff" Is that a reasonable price for the work done? either side of the pond.
Old 04 December 2006, 23:45   #2

Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
£350 Sounds about right for British prices to do that type of work. In actual fact it's probably cheap.

Only you can decide if you where ripped off tho.

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 December 2006, 03:33   #3

Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
£350 Sounds about right for British prices to do that type of work. In actual fact it's probably cheap.

Only you can decide if you where ripped off tho.
Ahh but remember it seems cheap to us because the $ is so very weak at the moment. Taking into account average wages etc it would be more like £500 in the UK. For a main dealer that would probably be about right but who in their right mind would use a main dealer unless the car was brand new?
Old 05 December 2006, 07:35   #4
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codders
who in their right mind would use a main dealer unless the car was brand new?