Old 15 February 2008, 18:01   #1

Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Contract work

I've been offered a position with a company that is to be contract employment though an agency.

I've never worked contract before, so what questions should I be asking the Agency and what are the pros and cons?

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2008, 18:32   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Hants
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp plus
contract work

Working through an agency normally does not give you the same company perks, eg Sick pay,Time off, annual holidays. If you dont work by taking days of/leave then no pay. Agency work gives you a little more flexibilty. If you have another income it can be useful as you can take work as required and choose jobs to suit.
Old 15 February 2008, 18:41   #3

Town: Enfield/Switzerland
Boat name: Zonneschijn II/Vixen
Make: Shakespeare/Avon
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evin' 175 DI /Yam 90
MMSI: 235055605
Andy,

I've never done it either, but I think some of the considerations should be the following:-
1) pension arrangements - what provisions are there? How does it compare to your current company arrangements etc?
2) annual leave - how does this work? is there annual leave like with a normal employment contract, or does taking a day off cost you money? (a reduced monthly pay packet reduces incentive to take time off).
3) How do the agency earn their money? does it come out of your salary as an service provision percentage? Or do you receive a salary at a set rate with the agency charging the "customer" your salary mark-up?
4) Who is paying the national insurance?
5) Is tax deducted at source (correctly) or do you need to put money aside each month?
6) How long is the contract for - does it give you enough job security?
7) Maybe have a look at these for some considerations:-
http://www.hiluxsurf.co.uk/forums/sh...=contract+work
http://www.hiluxsurf.co.uk/forums/sh...=contract+work