Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 October 2008, 10:15   #1
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Best Laptop with OS for under 300

Afer having some reliability probs on my desktop, I'm thinking of replacing my Desktop PC with a laptop (after speaking to Pete 7) and stand alone hard drive.

I really don't have a clue when it comes to selecting a spec of laptop, but obviously the best spec for the money. I know that there are loads of computer experts out there, so thought I would ask you guys first what sort of spec I can expect for the money.

I don't "game" and the most power hungery program will probably be Pinnical Video editing software.

So any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 14:09   #2
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Under 300.00! I was going to suggest an Apple Mac but I don't think I'll bother.
__________________

__________________
RIBnet: now available on Facebook!
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 14:24   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
As a rule video editing needs loads of power but it depends what you do with it of course.

300 is not a lot so instead of getting a new laptop for that price look on Ebay type Refurbished laptops.

make sure you buy from a seller with a load of feedback and they are uk based. You should get a 3 month warrenty which will be long enough to show up any faults.

buy a big name - avoid Packard Bell - Advent - emachines etc.

MAKE SURE IT HAS XP - NOT VISTA!!!

You could try PC World's business section - say you have your own business - they can supply laptops with XP. At that sort of price you don't need Vista slowing it down and don't let them put Norton anywhere near your machine!!!

Within reason forget about the CPU - it's RAM RAM RAM that counts. 1gig minimum. As to hard disk an 80gb is quite ok for a laptop.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 17:10   #4
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
I'm no expert,but Amazon seem to have some good deals on acer laptops
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-Aspire-...5055302&sr=1-1
__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 17:56   #5
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
As a rule video editing needs loads of power but it depends what you do with it of course.

300 is not a lot so instead of getting a new laptop for that price look on Ebay type Refurbished laptops.

make sure you buy from a seller with a load of feedback and they are uk based. You should get a 3 month warrenty which will be long enough to show up any faults.

buy a big name - avoid Packard Bell - Advent - emachines etc.

MAKE SURE IT HAS XP - NOT VISTA!!!

You could try PC World's business section - say you have your own business - they can supply laptops with XP. At that sort of price you don't need Vista slowing it down and don't let them put Norton anywhere near your machine!!!

Within reason forget about the CPU - it's RAM RAM RAM that counts. 1gig minimum. As to hard disk an 80gb is quite ok for a laptop.
All the way with you on that one codders Vid editing need some grunt ,.. and big storage
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 17:58   #6
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
I'm no expert,but Amazon seem to have some good deals on acer laptops
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-Aspire-...5055302&sr=1-1
They are OK to start with I've found .. but watch that warranty window
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 18:15   #7
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
I'm no expert,but Amazon seem to have some good deals on acer laptops
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-Aspire-...5055302&sr=1-1
Well I can Video edit using my existing Desktop which (when working) is 5 years old and running a Pentium 4. 2.8 chip and 1 gig of memory, so I'm confident that any laptop will have enough power for this task. As for memory I was going to buy a stand alone 500 Gig hard drive for all my important stuff like letters and photo's etc.

How about This one if a little bit over budget from Novatech then.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 18:42   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Andy, if you can hold fire until January I guarantee you will see some ridiculous bargains in January sales as all the manufacturers dump stock they over manufactured.

My company recycles Laptops and PCs for Corporates and as such we have thousands of Hi spec Dells & IBM Laptops for around 130ex however you will need to re-install XP (there will be a licence) and whatever applications you need and only a standard trade wty of 30 days as we normally sell by the pallet.

If you want a cheap one let me know.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 20:59   #9
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Well I can Video edit using my existing Desktop which (when working) is 5 years old and running a Pentium 4. 2.8 chip and 1 gig of memory, so I'm confident that any laptop will have enough power for this task. As for memory I was going to buy a stand alone 500 Gig hard drive for all my important stuff like letters and photo's etc.

How about This one if a little bit over budget from Novatech then.
Andy, you're absolutely on target about the hardware spec stuff. I did all the RIB videos on a P4 with 512MB Ram That said, RAM is king and remember 1Gb minimum for Vista if you choose that O/S - I won't preach to you - choose whatever suits your own usage. Be aware that some laptops, particularly older designs and lots of used ones only support up to 1GB or 2GB RAM. Most new ones can support up to 4GB although this is not all addressable and the limit will always be slightly lower (usually between 3GB and 3.75GB) depending on a number of factors.

Anyway, that Novatach laptop looks OK, it's a fairly standard T2390 based system which is OK... current entry level spec and and much faster then some piece of dog-sh1t ex-lease you could buy for 130. Nobody makes any money from hardware these days - it's all done on the warranty and extras... I notice that Novatech want to sell you their two year package for a few quid and the O/S for a few quid as well.

I have a reseller account with a big name manufacturer who will beat every price, specification and warranty (always on-site, never return-to-base) offered. When you've decided, let me know and I'll do you a quote for a cash deal (I don't offer finance!).
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2008, 21:40   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
When I say video editing takes loads of power it's all down to how you use it. If you use Premier with Boris or Holywood FX etc the rendering can take ages per frame if you are doing fancy special effects - and that's with loads of power and a hot graphics card.

Some renders can take over 4 hours for just 1,000 frames or 30 seconds of video - and that's on a meaty quad core with dual cards!!!

Most of this is prob way beyond the average home user though.............
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.