Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 November 2008, 06:31   #41
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
I’ve got vista on my lap top and XP Pro on all of the PCs at the office/centre. Vista does wind me up as so many things (particularly IE) seem to fail.

I was talking to a South African guy at the Southampton Boat Show about operating systems, (we were a bit off topic as I was selling RYA courses and he was importing RIBs), however he said that within Vista there is an option/facility to "Roll Back" to XP or XP Pro. While retaining all of you setting, documents etc.

As anyone ever heard of this or done it? If so was it worth doing? And how do you do it?
__________________

__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 07:07   #42
nik
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: east cowes
Make: academic
Length: no boat
Engine: fresh air
MMSI: N/A
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 540
Andy, I got a 12 inch screen laptop from these guys.
The beauty is you can specify the size of hard drive you want, how much memory and which operating system, even no operating system.
The chassis for my one is made by compal and the quality seems ok.

Nick.

Just realised these prices are ex VAT, so that pushes the price somewhat above your limit.
__________________

__________________
nik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 07:08   #43
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Stormforce View Post
...he said that within Vista there is an option/facility to "Roll Back" to XP or XP Pro...
You can't... that's compete horsesh1t!
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 07:11   #44
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Stormforce View Post
Vista does wind me up as so many things (particualrly IE) seem to fail
Yes, Id agree with the IE statement even though my own (domestic) experience does not incline me to support the 'vista-is-crap' bandwagon. In fact, my own experience would be that XP (over it's lifetime) had more issues than I've had with Vista. Just a personal observation - I'm sure others could justifiably argue otherwise.

However, at the moment I'm using IE8 beta which appears more stable and seems to avoid the IE7 instabilities I came across frequently. A word of caution though...some web sites - Nat West internet banking, for instance - do not appear compatible with IE8 beta (or vica versa).
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 14:20   #45
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Simple solution - use Firefox!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 14:43   #46
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
Simple solution - use Firefox!!!
My 'strategy' won't work for everyone, either from a practical point of view or a perceived quality standpoint but...I tend to use all things Microsoft () and all things BT ( ) on the simple basis that, in this way, there's possibly (probably?) the best chance of the stuff working together. So...MS Vista, MS Live One Care (a firewall, anti-virus, tune-up package), MS Money, MSN, MS Office...BT landine, BT Fusion, BT Vision, BT broadband, BT Auto Back Up. Then, if anything goes tits up I know who to complain to.

It's a bit like the strategy I've had for buying a RIB...go to an experienced, established, custom build supplier who can supply, fit, and be responsible for, everything.
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 14:53   #47
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
I wonder how many people out there are running multiple firewalls for no reason at all? Most routers have good firewalls built in - nothing else is needed.

More is NOT better!!!

As to using only Microsoft products - mmmmmmmm
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 15:03   #48
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
I wonder how many people out there are running multiple firewalls for no reason at all? Most routers have good firewalls built in - nothing else is needed.

More is NOT better!!!

As to using only Microsoft products - mmmmmmmm
Understood. Other firewalls are turned off It means I use MS Live One Care as an all-in-one protection package. It suits me...it might not suit others.

Microsoft - I only call it as I see it and comment as a PC 'amateur' who has evolved something that works for him
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 15:30   #49
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I've been having a touchy feely session today and trying not to get too seduced by all the "gadgets". I'm now as confused as ever . As usual, to get all the features I want, my budget would have to increase by quite a bit.

However, one thing I'm clear about is that Vista has to go. I will replace this as soon as I get the new computer home, the only thing I'm angry about is that I'm paying for an operating system I don't want.

As most branded laptops come with a pre-loaded OS, if I do replace the Vista OS is there a way of saving it, just in case I want to use it in the future?
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 November 2008, 15:34   #50
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
As most branded laptops come with a pre-loaded OS, if I do replace the Vista OS is there a way of saving it, just in case I want to use it in the future?
I suspect you will get a recovery disc with it and the pass code will be on a sticker on the undersise of the laptop.

I may be wrong but proabally worthregsiering it when you firts but it if you want the option of re installing in 2 yrs time.
__________________

__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.