Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 September 2006, 14:00   #71
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

Good luck. As I said I'm pretty sure an 8x AGP card will fit. Physically they are the same. Voltages should be as per the standard set by AGP 2.0. Its just that information from the card to the MoBo will go at half speed. Not something you will notice. Depending on how much you want to spend you could always buy a new motherboard that will take your CPU and RAM. Then you'll definatley get 8X AGP. But I don't think you need to do that. Not unless your suddenly going to start playing games.
__________________

__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2006, 14:17   #72
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Nick, the only information I could find on the Motherboard is: P4S5A/DX+ and the BIOS info when I boot up is: P4S5A/DX+ Release 08/22/2002.
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2006, 15:14   #73
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Bingo,

This is yours.

http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWeb/Product...uID=26&LanID=9
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2006, 15:18   #74
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
The manual says this

Expansion Slots •One 4xAGP slot for AGP 2.0-compliant interface
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2006, 15:21   #75
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

Thats as much as I can do for you. Other than fitting the card which I'm sure will work.

Best of luck.
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2006, 19:03   #76
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Thanks for all your help Nick (I can say I know much more about computers endtrails now), and everyone else that inputed for my problems. I'll keep you all informed about my progress.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2006, 19:10   #77
Member
 
benc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Intrepid
Make: Tornado
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150 Yamaha HPDI
MMSI: 235066402
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,319
Send a message via Skype™ to benc
Did you get the dvd drive working?

If not, what I'm guessing you've done is put the new hard drive on the same cable as the dvd drive?

if so, you need to check the "jumpers".

One device will need to be on master, and then the other on slave.

If they are not set right, odd things can happen! Sometimes one drive works, sometimes neither work.

If you look at the back of the DVD drive where the power and ide cables go, you should see a jumper just between them. I tend to set the cd/dvd drive as the slave, and the hard drive as the the master. Again, on the hard drive, the jumper settings are either on the sticker, written on the circuit board near the jumper, or engraved in the plastic by the jumper.
__________________
benc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2006, 19:47   #78
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Thanks Ben, it did seem to be a loose/dodgy connection. I'm going to replace the DVD player with a DVD player/burner, but not till I've sorted the graphics card.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2006, 13:26   #79
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Pc very nearly updated.

New Graphics card (installed today). I bought an 8X Radeon 9250 with 256MB, I'm glad I did this and not just replaced the fan. It's transformed my display, particularly as I replaced the CRT monitor for a TFT one.

New TFT widescreen monitor, Movies will never be the same .

Firewire card so that I can finally edit my home movies.

New DVD burner to replace my DVD player (that sometimes played up).

An extra hard drive I acquired.

I'll just reload my software and I'm off.

Just a thank you to everyone that gave input and Biggles Nick .
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.