Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 September 2006, 15:19   #11
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

Although these problems don't necessarily mean your computer is about to die, you do right to start backing stuff up.

If you don't play games on your PC it might be time to think about replacing it with a new one.

There are some very good computers around for little money now.

If you want you can give me a budget and an idea of what you want and I'll try and point you in the right direction.

If you can though It would be better to wait for Windows Vista and Direct X 10 but sometimes its just not possible to wait.

Anyway if I can give you some help I will. I normally build gaming machines for a hobby but I can advise on anything given a bit of time.

Nick.
__________________

__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2006, 15:40   #12
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I'll keep you informed Nick. I appreciate all your's and others advice, but will reload windows and try to format the C drive at the same time. My concern at the moment is getting reconnected to my server again, as I can only find the ADSL Modem guide and disc. I'll have to manually write the connection info down first to paper.

Andy
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2006, 15:54   #13
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

For your information I think Windows XP is pretty good. Its the first windows I've never had to re install and I'm pretty fussy with my PC.

If your running other versions of windows then these are no longer supported by microsoft.
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2006, 17:49   #14
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Well I've reloaded windows and installed Service pack 2. It was a bit tricky getting connected back to my server, but I ran the Files and settings wizard and made a disc which helped me tremendously.

I can't belive how much faster the computer is. Must have been full of crap .

The other trick bit was getting the USB ports to work....Still don't know what I did, but a dig around in the device manager was all that was needed.

Now to see if I get a re-occurance of my problem....Fingers crossed.



All that and I'm Knackerd. Here's hoping to have fixed the problem so that I can spend the money on a brand new 19"TFT monitor.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2006, 19:19   #15
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower
Here's hoping to have fixed the problem so that I can spend the money on a brand new 19"TFT monitor.
Go for it. I've just bought a HP vs19e and its bl^&dy brilliant - using it right now at 1280x1024. I can't bear even looking at the miserable 17" CRT on the pc at work now, its such a horrible little icky thing and I remember when I first got it I was SO impressed.

I always thought they were an unnecessary luxury till I got one... then you start to think about how much time you spend looking at it and penny pinching on that makes about as much sense as buying an uncomfortable bed on the basis it was cheap!

£199 from Comet probably cheaper by now as this was back in July. And I got the VAT back which was even better

Yep down £20 already here 10/10 from me for this particular one
__________________
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2006, 08:25   #16
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Novatech do one for £140 inc. Its a 19" widescreen.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2006, 08:49   #17
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

LCD TFT screens have few resolutions. Make sure your computer can output the desired resolution for your monitor.

Also the most important part of a TFT screen is its refresh rate. That Novatech one has all the right specs.

http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...nov-tft19y&P=2

I take it thats it.
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2006, 12:29   #18
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Yes Nick, that's the one.

Right, I've just turned my PC on after it's been off all day and it's playing up again. Not with exactly the same faults as before, but the monitor is switching it's self on and off again and things keep hanging, but hasn't crashed yet.

I haven't got all of XP updates yet, so I'll wait till after then.

Catch you all later (if everything still works then)
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2006, 13:45   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles
...Also the most important part of a TFT screen is its refresh rate.
Why is that, Biggles?
__________________
JW.
jwalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2006, 16:04   #20
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
I don't know what the different refresh rates are but mine runs at 60Hz (I think it does higher ones too but this was the default) and the picture stability is superb, not a hint of flicker at all, when there is just my wallpaper image showing, it could be a painting

If the monitor is switching off it could be losing the output from the graphics card which will put it into "power save mode" (same as if you unplugged the VGA input lead from the PC) which also points to a dud graphics card as somebody else suggested.

You do need to choose the right res though - I had mine at 1024x768 when I first fired up the computer and it was horrible, but at the designed 1280x1024 its lovely.

I hate widescreens, but that's just me. I always think you can fit more useful stuff on a proper shaped screen which was one reason I got this HP.
__________________

__________________
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.