As some of you know, I am looking or a SIB... and I found one on gumtree which I was quite interested in:
Honda Honwave TS38 inflatable with Honda BF20SHU Engine Boats, Kayaks & Jet Skis for Sale central london London
All looks good, seemed a bit cheap, but thought it might just be a bargain, so I contacted them... and offered £1,400, they said £1,450.. I agreed... I asked when I could go see/collect.. they said they wanted 50% of the money up front because they've had two time wasters yesterday who were using stolen paypal accounts... I said I understand, but didn't feel confident in transferring £700 without even seeing the boat first. I suggested I would go to a cash machine, and use 3 of my bank accounts to draw £500 from each to pay for it so that he can see the cash is not fake notes.. they said they still want money up front, and to use moneygram to send..
Anyway, it went on a bit like this... and it all seemed a bit fishy. I noticed he was using a microsoft email address (live.com) so I use the option in my email client to show all of the mail headers, and found the relevant one I was looking for:
X-Originating-IP: [178.138.35.204]
Microsoft automatically add this head which contains the IP of the internet connection the person was using to send the email.... so I used some of the tools on the internet to look the IP up, including
IP Address Lookup (IPv4 & IPv6). The IP is in romania - the guy has told me he lives in london and owns a construction company... etc etc
Mail transcript is here (read bottom to top)
http://www.bencummins.com/honda/