Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 July 2007, 15:46   #371
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollers View Post
Mine is a length of 1" ID braided clear hose out over the transom and cable tied to the A Frame.
Mine is the same but i drilled two holes in the transom lip (and sealed them)for the cable tie & got one of those little pumps with the micro chip in so no float switch
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 16:02   #372
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Chris, have you got a bilge pump fitted?
i started off with no bilge pump thinking the trunks would do the biz but in marinas that dont work, so i purchased a cheap 12 quid 360gph that works a treat and i turn it on to get any overnight rain out.......however i will get one of those microchip expensive ones like roy and bedajim have,

then if it pisses down like it normally does in cornwall i can go back to a boat that is empty of water instead of a foot deep at the back after a few hours!!
__________________

__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 17:07   #373
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I have two differnet pumps I can fit. I bought a 1200 GPH manual one and a 500 GHP auto one on one of my trips to the States last year. The 1200 GPH one has a 1.25" diameter hose tail on, obviously the 500 GPH one is a lot smaller diameter hosetail.

I want to fit the bigger of the pumps, my RIB's not left on a mooring very often so don't see the need for a Auto. I was going to fit a thru hull fitting and pipe all the bilge though there.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 17:09   #374
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
I have two differnet pumps I can fit. I bought a 1200 GPH manual one and a 500 GHP auto one on one of my trips to the States last year. The 1200 GPH one has a 1.25" diameter hose tail on, obviously the 500 GPH one is a lot smaller diameter hosetail.

I want to fit the bigger of the pumps, my RIB's not left on a mooring very often so don't see the need for a Auto. I was going to fit a thru hull fitting and pipe all the bilge though there.
andy

i will do a cash exchange for the auto bilge pump and you can have some hoses!!
__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 17:15   #375
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Well hang on till I've got the Osprey home first and I'll make my choice as which Pump to use. But yes, if I'm not using it you can have first dibbs
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 17:28   #376
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Well hang on till I've got the Osprey home first and I'll make my choice as which Pump to use. But yes, if I'm not using it you can have first dibbs
dib dib dib dob dob
__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2007, 02:52   #377
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Jardon View Post
i think the water now gets in via the trunks as i have not sealed these but have a plan to make some small holes at the bottom to let water out
Hugh I have the same problem with my Viper there is always water in the rear lockers, the thing is I don't have any trunk in one side like you do yet I still get water in both. It makes me wonder where else water could get in through, the only place I can think of is it runs down the Aframe perhaps after getting in through holes for the navlight wiring etc. however the amount that gets in is quite significant so I am not certain the only other place is under the tubes .

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2007, 02:56   #378
Member
 
Nick Hearne's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bucks
Boat name: Blue & Ding Dong
Make: Ribeye,SR4 & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115,50 & 15Hp Yams
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Hugh I have the same problem with my Viper there is always water in the rear lockers, the thing is I don't have any trunk in one side like you do yet I still get water in both. It makes me wonder where else water could get in through, the only place I can think of is it runs down the Aframe perhaps after getting in through holes for the navlight wiring etc. however the amount that gets in is quite significant so I am not certain the only other place is under the tubes .

Chris
I had the same problem, drilled some holes at the bottom to let it drain! Never used the storage in them anyway!
__________________
Nick Hearne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2007, 05:20   #379
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Hearne View Post
I had the same problem, drilled some holes at the bottom to let it drain! Never used the storage in them anyway!
Just checked mine and they are dry and its been out in the gentle rain we've had, starboard one has stains as if a little water could of been in there
but not now will check again after the next outing

James
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2007, 08:41   #380
Member
 
Hugh Jardon's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Reading, Hants
Boat name: Juicy
Make: Sealine F43
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 370hp
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,882
the water was getting in first by the holes in the aframe where the wires are presented....i filled these with black sikaflex

i resealed the base where the aframe bolts to the top of the transom box as i have holes to pass the wires thru and i did not use enough sealant first time round.

the place where the water may now be getting in is via the cable trunks that connect to the engine as water could work their way along these but i have now put some small holes at the bottom trunks so that should stop any more.

the access flaps have seals but these are not great but i did coat them with some grease, i suspect these are what are allowing the tiny seapage currently experienced

the hull void is dry as a bone, i just get a little water in the console from the seals round the console and a tiny bit in the transom boxs, probably from the access covers
__________________

__________________
Hugh Jardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.