Go Back   RIBnet Forums > Buy and sell > Bits and pieces
Click Here to Login

Old 17 March 2012, 15:55   #1

Town: Fareham
Length: 5m +
Mercury 75HP 2 stroke PTT Pre mix

Mercury 75HP 2 stroke PTT Pre mix.

I believe this to be a 1996 Serial: 9799238. I have owned this outboard for almost 3 years of which it has spent 2 sat on an engine stand in my insulated garage. The outboard was run in a coolant bath and stored with fogging oil. The outboard was removed from my speedboat and I intended to put it on a rib but ive never got round to it and due to commitments with the Armed forces she has to go.

It has some cosmetic marks, the cowling is not the original due to a theft with the previous owner. There is the odd corrosion blemish to the saddle bracket, nothing that will affect the integrity of the outboard.

I am a helicopter engineer and very thorough with my work. Since December I have stripped the gearbox and replaced all the seals, it’s a 3 tooth reverse gearbox of which all of the teeth, bearings and shims were in fantastic condition! I also replaced 3 roller ball bearings within the gear selector and refilled with premium gearlube. Pressure tested to 5psi. The 3 carburettors have been stripped, placed in an ultrasonic cleaner, rebuilt and set up. The fuel pump has been overhauled with a new kit. The advance spark requires setting this needs to be done in forward gear at 3000rpm in water, not possible in a workshop! Easy to do and im including a manual with instructions. The poppet valve and thermostat have been replaced, oil in the tilt and trim has been replaced, 2 new anodes are fitted and the electrics have all been tidied up. The controller was replaced when I first got the engine 3 years ago but I have lost the spare key (about £5 on ebay). The impeller and spark plugs were in too good a condition to replace. The top of the piston crowns and the cylinder walls have been inspected with a bore-scope, no scores or damage found just oily from the fogging mix.